Jeep Wrangler 4xe Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, All...got a 4xe last week and loving every minute driving it.
This is my fifth plug-in hybrid since buying a Chevy Volt in 2014.
I have a 2014 Siemens charger that has worked all four previous plug in hybrids, but the 4xe is causing the breaker to trip about 45 minutes into the charge.
I am no electrician, but I am guessing the breaker is tripping because the 4xe draws 32 amps and my Siemens charger maxes out at 30 amps.
Rectangle Font Circle Magenta Paper

Just wondering if there is anyway to make things work with this charger...or is it upgrade time?

·
Registered
2022 Jeep Wrangler U Rubicon 4xE (on order)
54 Posts
I'm surprised that a 30 amp charger has a 30 amp breaker....it should be a 40 amp breaker. You can change the breaker to a 40 amp breaker but you need to make sure the wire is the proper guage to handle the amperage.
Peak draw is usually 25-50% higher than the steady state draw, I’m surprised it wasn’t tripping before the 4xe. I wonder if something in the charging cycle causes it to increase draw at that time or if it just finally quits after running at 100% the whole time.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Peak draw is usually 25-50% higher than the steady state draw, I’m surprised it wasn’t tripping before the 4xe. I wonder if something in the charging cycle causes it to increase draw at that time or if it just finally quits after running at 100% the whole time.
That's a good question...it seems to pop the breaker at the same time during every charging cycle...I thought it might have to do with time of continuous draw (look at me, trying to sound like an electrician), but yeah, maybe it's something in the 4xe system. So here's a crazy idea...could it be the jump from three flashing blue charging lights on the dash to four lights?

·
Registered
54 Posts