Jeep Wrangler 4xe Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
610 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thanks to Wrangler4XEFan I discovered I have two 110v outlets on dedicated 20 amp circuits next to where I park. This means a 220v converter could be installed to support a level 2, 20 amp charger.

However, these are in phase with each other, so I have 0V potential. Would all I need to do in order to get them out of phase is move one of the breakers to the other side/buss in the panel?

·
Registered
163 Posts
Thanks to Wrangler4XEFan I discovered I have two 110v outlets on dedicated 20 amp circuits next to where I park. This means a 220v converter could be installed to support a level 2, 20 amp charger.

However, these are in phase with each other, so I have 0V potential. Would all I need to do in order to get them out of phase is move one of the breakers to the other side/buss in the panel?
Dammit Jim, I’m a doctor - not an electrical engineer, lol. Sorry I can’t help you.

·
Registered
610 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Lol, thanks for the bump

I've gone on panel wiring dive. I think I'll just be able to swap the breaker to the other side. But looking for confirmation.

·
Registered
71 Posts
It's up or down 1 - if you look at a 240V breaker (double pole) it's twice as wide. That's because the phases alternate as you go down slots in the panel. So, move the breaker for one 20A circuit up, or down a slot.

Make sure you can do this safely before doing anything, of course!

·
Registered
74 Posts
It's up or down 1 - if you look at a 240V breaker (double pole) it's twice as wide. That's because the phases alternate as you go down slots in the panel. So, move the breaker for one 20A circuit up, or down a slot.