Jeep Wrangler 4xe Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Newbie here. We got a new house and this is in the outside. Would this work for a phase 2 charger adapter? Thank you in advance.
Yes, That’s a NEMA 14-50 plug, so the outlet is rated for up to 50 Amps. You should look at the electrical panel it’s attached to to double check what AMP breaker the outlet is connected to so you’ll know the appropriate amperage EVSE charger to use.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Newbie here. We got a new house and this is in the outside. Would this work for a phase 2 charger adapter? Thank you in advance.
You lucky person you... Yeah, up to 40A Level 2 Charger - but you probably don't need anything higher then a 32A one for the 4XE. No one has been able to tell me the max KW or Amperage at 240V the 4XE can take... My Tesla can handle up to 48A, but the mobile charger will only put out 32A and even without a gas engine it's been more then enough.

·
Registered
65 Posts
You lucky person you... Yeah, up to 40A Level 2 Charger - but you probably don't need anything higher then a 32A one for the 4XE. No one has been able to tell me the max KW or Amperage at 240V the 4XE can take... My Tesla can handle up to 48A, but the mobile charger will only put out 32A and even without a gas engine it's been more then enough.
You can search for 4xe specifications and there is a complete set of data for all systems.
‘Here is the high voltage battery. Your number is 7.2 kW maximum charge rate.
BTW, by code, a 50amp NEMA 14-50 plug as shown in the picture, will handle a maximum of 40 amps.
‘The 4xe will use a maximum of 30 amps during the charge cycle. 7200kW/240volts = 30amps.
‘No point in buying a Level 2 charges over 32 amps, since the Jeep can’t use it, unless you have another car that can charge at 40 amps.
‘Hope this helps.

·
Registered
65 Posts