Jeep Wrangler 4xe Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a unique charging situation as I park about 200ft from my condo. I can run an extension cable from my patio to my parking spot. I've read online that the Jeep charger included with the 4xe is rated at 12 amps. I was thinking of purchasing this. But i'm no an electrician. Does anyone have any insight or warnings?
Thanks!

·
Registered
2022 Rubicon 4xe
592 Posts
The cord you link is only 14 gauge which at 200 feet and drawing 12 amps will only supply 107 volts, assuming your receptacle is providing 120 volts. That's a voltage loss of about 11%. Generally you want that to be less than 5% (that's the requirement by national electric code for branch circuits). And personally I'd try and keep it to less than 3%. 10 gauge will get you below 5% and 6 gauge below 3%. Both will be heavy! And likely expensive because of the copper content. Also, as the voltage drops the demand may go up to make up the difference. If the charger pulls 12 amps at 120 volts that's 1440 watts... So at 107 volts it would need 13.5 amps for the same 1440 watts. That's also more power than I'd want to draw from a 15 amp circuit for more than a few moments. Hopefully, you're starting with a 20 amp circuit. Below is a link to a random voltage drop calculator:

I have a unique charging situation as I park about 200ft from my condo. I can run an extension cable from my patio to my parking spot. I've read online that the Jeep charger included with the 4xe is rated at 12 amps. I was thinking of purchasing this. But i'm no an electrician. Does anyone have any insight or warnings?
Thanks!

·
Registered
2022 Rubicon 4xe
592 Posts