Jeep Wrangler 4xe Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the Jeep family so I immediately took my 4xe to a moderate trail. Upon doing an inspection of the under-body I noticed rust on both sides of the frame. Is this just a Jeep thing or is this something I should take back to the dealer and have them clean and respray? I took delivery in AZ and have never seen this issue with any of my other cars, so its a bit shocking to me to already see a smear of rust. I understand that this is little to no rust, but still shocking none the less.

·
Registered
2021 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 4xe
87 Posts
I'm new to the Jeep family so I immediately took my 4xe to a moderate trail. Upon doing an inspection of the under-body I noticed rust on both sides of the frame. Is this just a Jeep thing or is this something I should take back to the dealer and have them clean and respray? I took delivery in AZ and have never seen this issue with any of my other cars, so its a bit shocking to me to already see a smear of rust. I understand that this is little to no rust, but still shocking none the less. View attachment 1740 View attachment 1741
That is unusual for AZ, but it has been really wet here lately. If the dealer won’t do anything, I would wire brush the rust off, and get a rustoleum black underbody paint, and just touch it up myself.

That reminds me, that I need to check my Jeep, I tried taking it to a car wash after driving in the mud last weekend, and while the car wash did an ok job on the body, the underbody was still really caked with mud. I eventually got to washing the underbody myself yesterday, but I should check if I got some rust from leaving mud on the underbody for over a week.

For us in AZ, we need to be diligent on getting the monsoon mud off our Jeep’s after we hit the trails, as that is probably the only thing that can cause rust on our Jeep’s out here.

·
Registered
31 Posts