Jeep Wrangler 4xe Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I'm new to Jeep and tire reading...Question - if I have LT285/70/R17 tires does that mean I have 33 inch tires? Also, if a trail requires a 2inch lift, would that be in addition to the stock Rubicon 4xe? thank you and I appreciate your help.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hi Yes you have 33's. That's what the Rubicon ships with unless you get the Xtreme recon package.
What trail are you looking at that says you need a 2" lift? Just saying any vehicle needs a lift seems too broad a statement. Your Rubicon as shipped from factory can do pretty much any trail w/out a lift.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Yes you have 33's. That's what the Rubicon ships with unless you get the Xtreme recon package.
What trail are you looking at that says you need a 2" lift? Just saying any vehicle needs a lift seems too broad a statement. Your Rubicon as shipped from factory can do pretty much any trail w/out a lift.
Thank you. Seems like I can do a lot with those tires then. I was looking for easy to easy/moderate trails in Northern California, but was also checking to see what the minimum "must have's are" - Rubicon Trail (not that I'll be doing that anytime soon - baby steps) says 32 inch tires with 2 inch lift with front/rear lockers.

Reading this forum I'm thinking I should start with getting a Winch installed first.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Yes, most people will tell you to be concerned about recovery and safety first. So a winch is a good start. Lots of resources out there (youtube, these forums etc) that describe must have first mods/accy's.